about abs

Henschke Award Recipients

The Ulrich Henschke Award is the highest honor that the American Brachytherapy Society can bestow on a practitioner of brachytherapy, awarded for contributions to the field of brachytherapy, the radiation therapy community, and to the ABS. Dr. Henschke is considered the father of modern-day brachytherapy for his initial work in the 1950s, including his technological advancements that are still in use today.



Akila N. Viswanathan, MD, FABS
John Hopkins Medicine

2021 Mark Rivard, PhD, FAAPM, FABS
Brown University
2019 Gregory Merrick, MD, FABS
Urologic Research Institute, Ohio University School 
2018 Robert R Kuske, MD, FACRO, FABS
Arizona Breast Cancer Specialists
2017 Juanita M. Crook, MD, FRCPC, FABS
BC Cancer Agency
2016 Jeffrey Demanes, MD, FACRO, FABS
2015 Bruce R. Thomadsen, PhD
University of Wisconsin-Madison
2014 Beth A. Erickson, MD, FACR, FASTRO
Medical College of Wisconsin
2013 Frank A. Vicini, MD, FACR
Michigan Healthcare Professionals / 21st Century Oncology
2011 W. Robert Lee, MD, MS, M.Ed.
Duke University
2010 Patricia J. Eifel, MD
MD Anderson
2009 Michael Zelefsky, MD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
2008 Kent Wallner, MD
Puget Sound Health Care System
2007 Subir Nag, MD, FACR, FACRO
Kaiser Permanente Radiation Oncology
2006 Jeffrey Williamson, PhD
Virginia Commonwealth University Radiation Oncology
2005 Alvaro Martinez, MD
William Beaumont Hospital
2003 Louis B. Harrison, MD
Beth Israel Medical Center
2002 John Blasko, M.D.
Prostate Brachytherapy: Past, Present, and Future
1999 Luis Delclos, M.D.
Irradiation for Malignant Tumors of the Vagina
1995 Colin Orton, Ph.D.
The Dose-Rate Effect in Brachytherapy: Friend or Foe?
1994 Ravinder Nath, Ph.D.
New Radionuclide Sources for Brachytherapy
1993 Alain Gerbaulet, M.D,
Brachytherapy for Pediatric Malignancies
1992 Willet Whitmore, M.D.
The Memorial Sloan Kettering Experience with 125-I for Prostrate Cancer: 1970-1985
1991 Carlos Perez, M.D., FACR
A Historic Perspective and Challenges in Brachytherapy of the Uterine Cervix
1990 Jack Fowler, D.Sc.
The Role of Radiation Biology in Brachytherapy
1989 Professor Daniel Chassagne
Results of Oral Cancer Brachytherapy
1989 J. Frank Wilson, M.D.
Combined Modality Treatment with Brachytherapy
1988 Charles A.F. Joslin, M.D.
High Activity Source Afterloading in Gynecological Cancer and Its Future Prospects
1986 Theodore L. Phillips, M.D.
Neurobrachytherapy, State of the Art
1985 Samuel Hellman, M.D.
Preservative Management of Breast Cancer
1984 Eric Hall, D.Sc.
The Biological Basis of Endocurietherapy
1984 Bernard Pierquin, M.D.
Account of French Fellows
1982 Lowell Anderson, Ph.D
1981 Basil Hilaris, M.D.
1981 A.M. Nisar Syed, M.D.
Primary Irradiation on the Management of Cancer of the Breast