Ulrich Henschke Award

The Ulrich Henschke Award is the highest honor that the American Brachytherapy Society can bestow on a practitioner of brachytherapy, awarded for contributions to the field of brachytherapy, the radiation therapy community, and to the ABS. Dr. Henschke is considered the father of modern-day brachytherapy for his initial work in the 1950's, including his technology advancements are still in use today.

The 2016 Ulrich Henschke Award is awarded to:

D. Jeffrey Demanes M.D. FACRO, FACR, FASTRO

D. Jeffrey Demanes completed training and was board certification in medical and radiation oncology in 1981. His enthusiasm for clinical procedures and his fellowship with Drs. Nisar Syed and Ajmal Puthawala inspired him to dedicate his career brachytherapy. Soon thereafter he became a loyal member of the American Brachytherapy Society. He founded California Endocurietherapy (CET), the first practice in the United States devoted to solely to brachytherapy and learned many applicable techniques by scrubbing in with his surgical colleagues. He did low dose rate brachytherapy for 10 years at numerous hospitals in the San Francisco Bay Area and then opened a high dose rate (HDR) specialty center, which offered brachytherapy for every indication. Approximately 25,000 HDR treatments were delivered between 1991-2009.

He trained many physicians in the art of brachytherapy and hosted residents and physicians from Stanford (Henry Kaplan 2004 and Gold Nugget 2007 teaching awards) and many other centers. He created a database registry in 1991, which accumulated information on the approximately 5000 HDR patients treated at CET. From this database he collaborated with Dr. Alvaro Martinez and others to publish pioneering multi-institutional outcome studies on prostate and other cancers. He has given many invited lectures and published many articles on brachytherapy.

Dr. Demanes recognized the importance of contributing to organized medicine. He was the president of the American College of Radiation Oncology (ACRO) (Gold Medal award 2010), the chairman of the Healthcare Policy Committee of the American Society of Radiation Oncology (ASTRO), president of the American College of Radiology (ACR) Council of Region Radiation Oncology, Societies (CARROS), and a long-standing member of the ACR Clinical Advisory Committee (CAC). In all these things he brought the interests of brachytherapy to the attention of healthcare policy makers.

In 2010 he became Director of Brachytherapy at UCLA to train medical students, residents, and fellows, do outcomes research, and develop a center of excellence. He promoted the concepts of the synergism of interstitial brachytherapy coupled with HDR to achieve optimal dosimetry and maximum benefit for the patient. His vision for the future is more and better image guidance and the development of brachytherapy navigation for catheter insertion and treatment planning. Beginning in 2016 he became Professor Emeritus at UCLA where he continues to pursue brachytherapy interests with passion.

Ulrich Henschke Award Recipients

2015 Bruce R. Thomadsen, PhD, DABR, DABH, DABMP, FAAPM
University Of Wisconsin-Madison

2014 Beth A. Erickson, MD, FACR, FASTRO
Medical College of Wisconsin

2013 Frank A. Vicini, MD, FACR
Michigan Healthcare Professionals / 21st Century Oncology

2011 W. Robert Lee, MD, MS, M.Ed.
Duke University

2010 Patricia J. Eifel, MD
MD Anderson

2009 Michael Zelefsky, MD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

2008 Kent Wallner, MD
Puget Sound Health Care System

2007 Subir Nag, MD, FACR, FACRO
Kaiser Permanente Radiation Oncology

2006 Jeffrey Williamson, PhD
Virginia Commonwealth University Radiation Oncology

2005 Alvaro Martinez, MD
William Beaumont Hospital<

2003 Louis B. Harrison, MD
Beth Israel Medical Center

2002 John Blasko, M.D.
Prostate Brachytherapy: Past, Present, and Future<

1999 Luis Delclos, M.D .
Irradiation for Malignant Tumors of the Vagina

1995 Colin Orton, Ph.D.
The Dose-Rate Effect in Brachytherapy: Friend or Foe?

1994 Ravinder Nath, Ph.D.
New Radionuclide Sources for Brachytherapy

1993 Alain Gerbaulet, M.D.
Brachytherapy for Pediatric Malignancies

1992 Willet Whitmore, M.D.
The Memorial Sloan Kettering Experience with 125-I for Prostrate Cancer: 1970-1985

1991 Carlos Perez, M.D., FACR
A Historic Perspective and Challenges in Brachytherapy of the Uterine Cervix

1990 Jack Fowler, D.Sc.
The Role of Radiation Biology in Brachytherapy

1989 Professor Daniel Chassagne
Results of Oral Cancer Brachytherapy

1989 J. Frank Wilson, M.D.
Combined Modality Treatment with Brachytherapy

1988 Charles A.F. Joslin, M.D.
High Activity Source Afterloading in Gynecological Cancer and Its Future Prospects

1986 Theodore L. Phillips, M.D.
Neurobrachytherapy, State of the Art

1985 Samuel Hellman, M.D.
Preservative Management of Breast Cancer

1984 Eric Hall, D.Sc.
The Biological Basis of Endocurietherapy

1984 Bernard Pierquin, M.D.
Account of French Fellows

1982 Lowell Anderson, Ph.D

1981 Basil Hilaris, M.D.

1981 A.M. Nisar Syed, M.D.
Primary Irradiation on the Management of Cancer of the Breast